Home » Fitness » That time I cried at Chick-Fil-A…

That time I cried at Chick-Fil-A…

Hi! My name is Paige, and I’m a dreamer. If you don’t believe me just ask my parents. I’ve been coming up with crazy stuff since 1988, y’all. I am the first to admit that I set crazy high some may say unrealistic expectations for myself. Oh well. Let me get corny for a second.. What’s that quote?

20140327-144859.jpg
Yup, that’s me!

Anyway… back to crying in Chick-Fil-A. If you’ve been following sanity amongst chaos for a while, then you’ve more than likely read my running story. I sat on my couch 7 months pregnant when I wrote that I wanted to run a full marathon in 2014. There she goes again, dreamin’. Well as if training and running a full marathon isn’t enough let’s just set that goal a little higher. I want to run the New York City Marathon. Ha! Silly girl, that’s reaching for the moon. After doing lots of research I knew I would never qualify. I’m a mediocre runner. I know that. I did find out that if you enter into the lottery 4 years in a row then you are guaranteed a spot the 5th year. Awesome.. That seems reasonable enough, right? So 4 MONTHS (December 2013) ago I sat at my computer and put my name in the lottery. They charged my card $5 and that was that. Fast forward to last night. Me, the husband and the kiddos were sitting down at chick-fil-a for dinner. Letting the kids play out their last bit of energy for the day and enjoying our time together. Will got up to take #2 to the restroom so I decided to check my email. And low and behold…

20140327-144908.jpg
Holy crap! Jaw drop to floor… Does that say that I just got into the New York City Marathon on my FIRST try!!! Cue waterworks. Will gets back to the table all but thinking someone had died for me to push my phone over to him for him to see it for himself! I think we both kind of freaked out a little. For ANY runner this is a huge deal.. But for us mediocre runners, this is once in a lifetime! I am so excited!!! I often wear many hats.. Will’s Wife, Hayden, Kash and Dixie’s Mom, so and so’s friend etc… But this is my hat. Paige, NYC Marathoner. Has a nice ring to it, right??! Now don’t get be wrong.. I may be crawling across that finish line. But I will be there. This small town girl originally from Mississippi will be a NYC Marathon Finisher. Wow!!

20140327-144916.jpg
(and not to mention I have really cool friends that show up to bootcamp the day after with awesome shirts like this.)

So… I hope you will join me on this journey. I will be blogging my way to and through the NYC Marathon as I train and countdown to November 2nd.

I can’t wait!!

As one of my favorite Brooks T-shirt says… Run Happy!

XOXO,
Paige

One thought on “That time I cried at Chick-Fil-A…

  1. I am suppose to be an inspiration to you, dear daughter! But I am constantly amazed and inspired by you Paige. I am SO, SO proud of everything you have become. I must say I did a dang good job in raising you….haha. I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

