Home » Uncategorized » An Update and A Million Thanks

An Update and A Million Thanks

20131022-120312.jpg

I have a lot I want to say today but first I want to update those of you that haven’t been following our story on social media.

Last Wednesday was surgery day. I was able to feed Dixie late the night before surgery and I went ahead and strapped her in her car seat for the night. Thankfully she slept until we arrived at the surgery center the next morning. An answered prayer. PreOp was the worst part. Lots of pushing and poking and a fussy hungry baby that didn’t understand what was going on.

20131022-120630.jpg
They finally gave her something to calm her down and we waited for her to be taken back to surgery.

20131022-120733.jpg

20131022-120746.jpg
Surgery lasted about 45 minutes and we were able to be back in recovery with her as she was waking up from anesthesia. Such a blessing. We had been warned that she could be uncontrollable coming out of it but thankfully she wasn’t. She was very calm. She was very raspy and it was noticeably hard for her to cry due to the tube being down her throat.

20131022-121053.jpg

20131022-121104.jpg
We were discharged and able to come home shortly thereafter. And the waiting began…

20131022-121207.jpg
God has showed himself to us in so many ways during this whole process and I feel like certain people have been placed in our lives to be there during this very moment. We are so lucky to have someone close to us that was able to find out that Dixie’s report had been read before the weekend. I called our surgeon around 11:00 am on Friday to get the news…

20131022-121526.jpg

**Let me pause for a minute to say how thankful I am to Cassie Bousson with Bousson Photography for capturing some great pictures pre surgery. I never knew how much I’d appreciate a non scarred chest picture of Dixie.**

I think I forgot to breathe during the phone call! The words benign were like a sweet sweet song.

20131022-121718.jpg
Like I said in a previous post, I have felt very guarded about what to share or not share on social media. Now that we are slowly putting this chapter behind us I feel more comfortable letting you into my head during this whole ordeal. Here are a few details that we had decided to keep between us that I am now sharing with you. From day 1 we knew this was a “tumor”. I hate that word. I hated hearing it, I hated saying it. So, I didn’t. We also knew that after the ultrasound showed increased vascularity that per the doctor “increased vascularity is often a sign of malignancy”. Another sentence I never wanted to utter. We knew why there was a sense of urgency. We knew what worse case scenario was and we were prepared for the next step in this nightmare of a journey. I knew that that phone call with the doctor was going to end much differently than it did.

20131022-122316.jpg
A million “thank you’s” could never be enough from me to each and every one of you. I truly believe that it is because of all of you lifting us and my sweet baby up in prayer that we are able to dance in the rain! We praised him through the storm, we had faith that he would prevail and he didn’t disappoint. I feel like my faith has been tested so much over the past month and I know God used this situation to remind me that he is in control. I questioned him, I praised him, I was mad at him, I praised him, I was disappointed in him, I praised him. I have never been on such an emotional, physical or spiritual roller coaster in my life. I am so glad to be “over the hump” so to speak. Dixie is still recovering from surgery. The first 4 days home were very hard for her, and us. She wouldn’t eat much, she slept all day and all night, she ran fever and she cried the most pitiful cry. I started to wonder if she would ever be my normal baby again. The doctor’s called it an “anesthesia hangover” from what I understand it is very hard for their little bodies to process all that it went through causing them to be out of it for a while. Then, this happened…

20131022-123320.jpg
She came back!! On day 5 post op she was back to her old self. We are still managing the pain but for the most part she is acting very much like Dixie, pre surgery. Yay!!! Tomorrow, we go to get the stitches removed and I am hoping it will all be downhill from there..
{warning: if you have a weak stomach, keep scrolling past the next 2 pictures}

20131022-123702.jpg

20131022-123717.jpg
The tumor ended up being larger than we had thought so the incision is also larger than we had hoped. We used a plastic surgeon so I am anxious to see how beautifully it heals and will just be a distant memory.

At this point I know I sound like a broken record but I seriously cannot say thank you enough. We have been so overwhelmed by the outpouring of love showed to our family. With so much bad in this world it has been wonderful to see all the good out there. Maybe that was the point in all of this? We may never know what God’s plan was for this bump in the road but I know there was a reason. And for that, I am forever grateful.

20131022-125246.jpg

Last but not least, living in Memphis (the home of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital) I am painfully aware that not everyone’s phone call ends the way ours did. Did you know:
– 46 kids are diagnosed with cancer every day
– cancer is the leading cause of death by disease in children (more than AIDS, asthma, cystic fibrosis, and congenital anomalies combined)
-Two-thirds of children treated for childhood cancer will suffer long term effects from treatment including loss of hearing and sight, heart disease, learning disabilities, and infertility
– there are 12 major types of childhood cancer
– childhood cancer is different than adult cancer and responds differently to treatment
– less than 4% of the National Cancer Institute’s budget is directed toward childhood cancers

Those statistics shake me to my core. Thank God my child was not called to be one of the 46 on October 18th. But there are 46 children and families EVERYday that deserve just as much if not more love, support and prayers that have been shown to my family.

You can donate to St. Jude here.

XOXO,
Paige

4 thoughts on “An Update and A Million Thanks

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Paige. I was one of those people who was praying for your Little Dixie. I am one of your Mom’s high school classmates.

  2. Pagie, so thankful the Lord answered all the prayers that were said for Dixie – God is good all the time! Kay Bridges (friend of your grandmother Dixie).

  3. Paige, I am a friend to your mom and Aunt Pam and have been following your blog and praying for your family on this journey. I rejoice with you in this good news about your precious Dixie. I have lifted praises for all the answered prayers and
    For others who have helped to pray your family through.
    May The Lord continue to bless you all greatly!

    • Paige I have been following Dixie’s journey on facebook and have been praying for her healing and recovery & also for your family. I am so glad to see that everything has turned out good for her. I have known you family for many years and will continue to pray for you . She is a beautiful little girl. May God continue to bless her.

Leave a Reply

