Home » Uncategorized » Another Chapter In Our Story

Another Chapter In Our Story

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.” Philippians 4:6

20130926-152057.jpg

I have probably started this post 10 times then deleted and started again. I am the first person to complain about fair weather facebookers, you know those people whose lives are perfect all the time and you never hear or see of anything besides unicorns and rainbows. Yet, this week I’ve caught myself wanting to be one of those people. Because, if I didn’t share our story on social media then I could pretend like it wasn’t happening… Right?! Wrong. Unfortunately it doesn’t work that way. Because we do choose to live our life so publicly via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and this blog, I feel I have no other option but share not only our peaks but our pits. That’s what this week has been for us. One big pit.

Series of events:

Last weekend we were out of town visiting family. Sunday morning as I was getting Dixie changed I noticed a small vein colored discoloration on her upper left chest. Just like with any of my kids when I notice something, I touch it. When I went to feel on it I realized it was a knot. And so it begins… Those whirlwind of emotions and thoughts running through my head. I immediately called Will in to feel it then called my mom. She urged me to call our pediatrician to let them know what was going on. After calling the pediatrician and explaining it the best I could over the phone they said they wanted to see us in the office first thing Monday morning.

Monday morning we visited our Pediatrician who examined Dixie, then asked if the other pediatrician in the clinic could examine her also. After both examinations they decided to send us over to the hospital to radiology for an ultrasound. Around 5:15 Monday, our Doctor called us and told us she wasn’t convinced as to what this lump/mass/knot/nodule (I’ve heard it called all of these from various doctors this week) was and that they were going to send us to a surgeon. She said she wasn’t treating it as an Emergency but she was treating it with a sense of urgency and we just needed to have it removed and tested.

Thursday: We met with our surgeon who confirmed what our doctor had already told us. He says it definitely needs to come out and be tested according to ultrasound results.

So, after talking with 3 doctors and a radiologist, surgery is what we will do.

Our surgeon doesn’t like to do surgery until she is 10 lbs because she will be put to sleep and the least anesthesia risks the better. She is 9 lbs 4 oz. now. We are scheduled for surgery October 22nd at 7:00 am at LeBonheur Children’s Hospital here in Memphis. He will do a vertical incision on her chest with dissolvable stitches. They will send it off to the lab at LeBonheur immediately and we will await the results and go from there.

So, that’s that. Like I said before I have debated a million times about “putting it out there”. But, I knew that addressing it head on and stating the facts would prevent any speculation as to what is going on. Am I nervous about my then 12 week old baby being put to sleep and cut on? Absolutely. Am I terrified that the words “benign” and “malignant” have been used when talking about my little girl? Absolutely. Do I have faith that God doesn’t give us more than we can handle? You betcha!

What can you do for me?
Pray. Pray. Pray.

Pray that in the next few weeks Dixie gains as much weight as possible.
Pray that Dixie’s surgery goes off without a hitch.
Pray for her doctors and surgery team.
Pray for Me and Will that our fears be calmed and we put all of our faith and trust in God.
Pray for Hayden and Kash as we try and explain to them why their little sister has “a cut” as they call it.
And above all else, pray that this lump/mass/knot/nodule comes back free and clear and that we can put these scary weeks behind us.

I often joke that God gives me way too much credit for how much I can handle. I am not sure why he chose this to be a part of our story but I have complete faith that we will pass this test with flying colors and Dixie is going to be just fine! 🙂

Thanks in advance for your continued prayers for Dixie and our family. No matter how big or small the situation we can never have too many prayer warriors in our corner.

20130926-155824.jpg

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

XOXO,
Paige

7 thoughts on “Another Chapter In Our Story

  1. Praying for you Paige!! I know without a doubt prayer will work miracles!!! I’m sure Dixie and your family will be blessed and come thru this stronger than ever and praying for nothing but good news. And you are right God doesn’t put us thru more than we can handle. Love you girlie!!! And will be praying for you and your sweet little family!!

  2. I’m holding back tears for you. As a mom, this has to be so hard to handle, but you have great faith. I know God has that precious little girl in His hands. We will be praying for you guys. Dixie is beautiful. I know you guys are so proud of that sweet girl.

  3. Paige, you, your family and this sweet baby girl is in my prayers. Seeing you grow from a young girl into such a strong loving mother has been very inspiring. When you have a child that is not well, it is one of the hardest challenges that a mother can go through. I am confident that God will have his hand on Dixie, you and your family through this difficult time. God will prevail!

  4. Just heard today about this. Paige, I’m amazed at your faith. You have such a beautiful way with words..making me feel your emotions. I’m praying for sweet Dixie and all of your precious family.

Leave a Reply

