Home » Pregnancy » The Hospital Bag 411 part II

The Hospital Bag 411 part II

20130624-141513.jpg
After being up all night with Braxton Hicks contractions, I decided it was time for me to finish packing my hospital bag. After all, maybe I will have a use for it sooner than I thought. Either way, in 19 days we are headed to the hospital whether we are ready or not. So…let’s be ready. I already did a post on what I packed for the baby. You can find it here. Now, what I packed for me…

20130710-104240.jpg
The Bag: Vera Bradley Large Duffel in Provencal found here. This pattern is actually one of their sale colors right now at $63.75 vs. the usual $85.
What’s in the bag:

  • Lightweight Robe – for the first day I will stay in the hospital gown. I have csections so I am just coming off some major pain meds and you are so so sore. After night number one I will change into a lightweight robe.
  • Pajamas – This go around I got a sleeveless nightgown with a very light robe that goes over it. Both cotton.
  • 4 Sports Bras – For more reasons than one, I have decided not to breastfeed this time. I have been doing some research on how to dry up your milk quickly. The route I am going to take is tight sports bras immediately after delivery. I packed 4 because I usually where 2 at a time anyway, and I packed various sizes since your milk still does come in.
  • Regular Bra – I don’t know why and I probably wont even wear it except for to the hospital on surgery day, but it’s there if I want it.
  • “Granny Panties” – Goodbye body as you know it. Post delivery comes with all kinds of fun changes. I mostly use the mesh underwear offered by the hospital just because of my csection incision and the pain that I am in. But whether you have csection or a regular delivery, you are going to want to pack some underwear that you don’t mind ruining or throwing away after your hospital stay. Trust me.
  • 3 pairs of socks – hospitals are always cold and I am very cold natured. I need my socks.
  • Flip Flops – makes life easier when going to the bathroom, taking walks etc.
  • Stomach Wrap – I have a few different kinds of these and I packed all 3. The hospital gives you one if you are a csection patient, and it is by far my favorite. I still have mine from baby number 2 so I put that in my bag just in case they’ve changed them since last time. I also have the Baboosh Body and the Belly Bandit. Whether csection or regular delivery, wrapping my stomach very tight after delivery provided so much relief. Your uterus is steadily shrinking back to size and you will continue to have contractions. The belly wraps make everything so much easier. I wear them for a couple of weeks post baby.
  • Going home outfit – Pack something loose fitting and comfortable. Preferably something you have worn during this last trimester of pregnancy. As much as I’d like to tell you you will be right back in those size 4’s, it just isn’t going to happen. If you are prepared with something that is going to fit you then you won’t experience any disappointments upon leaving the hospital. Your hormones are going to be running wild. Don’t let weight or ill fitting clothes add to it.
  • Phone Charger

20130710-104247.jpg

I am lucky in that I am not one of those people who doesn’t have to wash my hair everyday. Thank God. So, I don’t even know if I will wash my hair during my hospital stay but I packed everything I would need to “get ready” just incase. Half of this stuff will probably not even get used but at least I have it if I need it. You are going to feel like you’ve been hit by a bus… any thing you can bring that will make you feel better about yourself, pack it.

Shown in picture:

  • Makeup Bag
  • Mirror
  • Hairspray
  • Spray Gel
  • Dry Shampoo
  • Lotion
  • Deodorant
  • Body Spray
  • Eye Makeup Remover
  • Makeup Remover Towelettes
  • Cotton Balls
  • Qtips
  • Glasses Case with Glasses and Contacts
  • Contact Solution

Not shown in picture:

  • Shampoo
  • Conditioner
  • Body Wash
  • Shaving Cream
  • Razor
  • Hair Dryer
  • Straightener
  • Curling Iron
  • Bobby Pins, Ponytail holder, clippy
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste

That’s it. I think I am officially ready for my 3-4 day hospital stay. WooHoo. I can’t believe it is so close! Lucky for us we live extremely close to the hospital. Our 2 boys will be staying at our house with their grandparents. This makes life a little easier for me since I don’t have to worry about packing bags for them. Will will just pack a bag for the first night (Pajama Pants, Tshirt, Boxers, Socks, a pair of Jeans, Tennis Shoes, Toothbrush, Toothpaste) He will be able to go home everyday to tend to things the boys need as well as take a normal shower and change or get more clothes etc.

I hope this post helped any first time or 2nd, 3rd time moms get prepared for their hospital stay as well. It took me a while to even figure out where to begin and this is my 3rd go at it. But, I think I am prepared. Now, come on baby!!

XOXO,

Paige

One thought on “The Hospital Bag 411 part II

  1. Pingback: The Hospital Bag 411 part 1 | sanity amongst chaos

Leave a Reply

