Home » DIY » DIY: “It’s A Girl” Burlap Door Hanger

DIY: “It’s A Girl” Burlap Door Hanger

When going over my “do I have everything for the hospital” list over and over, I realized I didn’t have anything for the hospital door. They have really cute stuff that can set you back as much as $50 on etsy or in the hospital gift shop. Not happening. I started looking on Pinterest and Etsy and came across the cute little baby carriage burlap door hangers. I combined the ideas of a couple of them to make my own. Here is how I did it:
My inspiration: this Burlap door hanger from Etsy.
I found pink burlap at Hobby Lobby for $3.99 a yard which is all I needed.
I started out by folding my yard of burlap in half and spraying it generously with some starch and then ironing it to stiffen it up and make it easier to work with.
20130703-083208.jpg
I then free handed the outline of the baby carriage with a highlighter, just dark enough where I could see to cut the shape out but it not show for the rest of the project.
20130703-083219.jpg
Once the form was cut out I started painting. Adding stuff here and there until it was how I wanted it.
20130703-083234.jpg
For the “It’s A Girl” banner I bought pre-cut burlap triangles from Hobby Lobby and hot glued them onto the carriage adding 2 twine bows to make it look like it was strung like a banner.
20130703-100224.jpg

20130703-100233.jpg
After it dried I started gluing and stuffing the burlap. I did a more detailed tutorial on that here. I added the picture hanging wire to hang it from and a burlap bow. TA-DA…finished product.
20130703-083250.jpg
I added a little bit of white to the wheels once I started taking pictures of it and thought it needed a little something else.
20130703-083345.jpg
I’m really happy with how it turned out and I am excited to use it at the hospital and then for her room door at home. I think the whole project only set me back about $23.

XOXO,
Paige

Leave a Reply

