Home » Food » Derby de Mayo

Derby de Mayo

Happy Cinco de Mayo!!

We celebrated last night with some friends so I guess it was technically a Happy Cuatro de Mayo from us!! Around here we look for any excuse to have a get together and with our crazy schedules they seem few and far between. With a nasty, rainy weekend and all of outdoor activities canceled (soccer, baseball) it was a perfect afternoon/night to hang out with 2 of our favorite couples! No excuses. Although, I do wish the weather would have cooperated a little bit so some back patio fun could be had. Oh well. Beggars cant be choosers, right? It just so happens the Kentucky Derby was yesterday too. I love watching all the pre stuff. The big hats, the celebrities, the horses names… I am very intrigued by the whole process. We all had our certain horses we were pulling for. Though none of them won, it was fun having a horse to root for. Here are some of my favorite and not so favorite Kentucky Derby looks from yesterday:
139th Kentucky Derby - Arrivals
Does Lauren Conrad ever do wrong? I vote no. She always looks so simple and classy.
139th Kentucky Derby - Arrivals
Not really loving either one of the outfits here but they are such a pretty couple, I just couldn’t resist.
139th Kentucky Derby - Arrivals
Joey, Joey, Joey. No, No, No.
(pics from http://www.gossipcop.com/2013-kentucky-derby-celebrities-photos-famous-celebs-pictures-stars-pics/#21)

Now, back to our little hoorah, minus the hats. We are just as cool as celebrities, I swear.

The Menu:

20130504-203642.jpg

Guacamole Dip – brought by Erin

7 Layer dip – brought by Courtney

Dump and Stir Mexican Dip – I used this recipe: http://www.tasteandtellblog.com/dum-and-stir-mexican-dip/

Fruit Salsa with Cinnamon Chips – I used this recipe minus the fruit preserves: http://www.funcheaporfree.com/2011/06/foodie-tuesday-recipe-fruit-salsa-w.html

Taco Salads – I used this recipe for cooking the meat in the crockpot that I found on Pinterest. Why have I never done this before?? SO easy! http://www.aroundmyfamilytable.com/2010/10/slow-cooker-taco-meat/ and perfect for a get together where you want your food to stay hot for a while. Genius! I used store bought taco salad shells and set out some Cheese, Sour Cream, Lettuce, Tomato and Salsa for a fun, yummy and easy Taco Salad Bar.

Some Virgin Margarita’s for the preggo gals and some Bud Light Lime and Bud Light Lime-a-Rita’s for those that get to celebrate this holiday the right way! 🙂

20130504-203727.jpg

20130504-203738.jpg

20130504-203744.jpg

20130504-203751.jpg

20130504-203758.jpg

Strawberry Cake – not really a Mexican dish but I was craving it and figured this was a good excuse to make one! I used this recipe: http://www.callmepmc.com/2012/09/easy-strawberry-cake/ with 2 tubs of store bought cream cheese frosting, I whipped the frosting with the mixer and added some fresh strawberries.

20130504-203659.jpg

20130504-203707.jpg

20130504-203715.jpg

I think we all ate until we thought we were going to pop. It was such a great time hanging out with wonderful friends and watching 2 minutes and 30 seconds of something they hype up all day long. Dang “Overanalyzed” didn’t pull out the W for me. Oh well.

20130504-203819.jpg
Sweet Erin and Emmie. Erin is due one week after me with a baby girl, too! so fun!!

20130504-203828.jpg
This guy is never far from the food table.

20130504-203836.jpg
and this one… never far from the sweets.

20130504-203843.jpg
Sweet Friends. Seriously, the best.

While I cleaned the kitchen, I turned around to find this…
20130504-203856.jpg

20130504-203904.jpg
Wouldn’t have it any other way…my cup runneth over.

And, that’s how we spent our Kentucky Derby Saturday/Cinco de Mayo celebration. What did you do? Any favorite traditions or recipes?! I’d love to hear!

XOXO,
Paige

2 thoughts on “Derby de Mayo

  1. Pingback: Our Thanksgiving Menu with Grocery List/Savings | sanity amongst chaos

Leave a Reply

