Home » Style » The Power of Makeup

The Power of Makeup

I don’t call myself a “Makeup Guru” by any means. Since I did go through Cosmetology school, I do know a thing or two about makeup. However, I don’t wear makeup often. Yes, I probably should. I am definitely not one of the blemish free olive skin tone I don’t wear makeup kind of girls. I am the complete opposite. My day consist of running my kids around town in my workout clothes and going to the gym and sweating my tail off in between stops. So, I don’t really have the time or want to put makeup on. Although, I’m sure the general public wishes that I would. When I do wear makeup I get an overwhelming amount of compliments. Sure makes a stay at home mom feel good. I’m not sure if its actually because of my makeup or the fact that its just so much better than what I look like without.. see below. Scary! I have spent a lot of time and money on makeup. I have been through countless tubes of the “fad” things that they tell you to buy in magazines or the internet and I have finally (after many many years) come across my makeup “MUST HAVES”. I have even experimented enough to find drug store buys for some of my favorite higher end brands. You can thank me later. 🙂

photo 2 pp

These 2 pictures were taken the SAME DAY…less than 12 hours apart from each other. Now, tell me you don’t believe in the power of makeup. I look downright scary in the left ones. #1 I can’t believe I even posted them on here and #2 no wonder people always compliment my makeup, anything at this point is probably better than seeing face on left everyday. oops. I’ve seen these pictures side by side for 4 months now and I still continue to go without makeup daily. Maybe I should change that…Maybe not.

photo 1 pp1

In my defense, I did just finish running a half marathon and had been awake since 4:30 a.m. in the pictures on the left. Don’t judge me too hard. Too late? I thought so.

photo (3)

Below is a list of the makeup I use, maybe you will find a new favorite, too!

makeup makeup1

I have fair , normal/oily skin. I can’t use moisturizer or my face becomes a grease fest and I can’t use astringent because my face becomes dry and flaky. So, I just skip those steps.

1. Primer

Bare Minerals “PRIME TIME” Foundation Primer – $23.oo (Sephora)

a72607

Smashbox “Photo Finish” Foundation Primer – $36.00 (Sephora)

images

e.l.f. Mineral Infused Face Primer – $6.00 (Target)

face prime elf

Monistat Soothing Care Chafing Relief Powder-Gel – $7.99 (Walgreens)

4f942a0183b1f_220696n

I know you are thinking chafing gel? Surely she didn’t mean to put that on there. Wrong…I did. I came across this article on pinterest and I am a sucker for a dupe. ( http://www.weddingbee.com/2011/12/29/helpful-series-ace-your-face-pt-1/#more-225510 ) This stuff is AWESOME. You get more ounces for less money and it is EXACTLY like using bare minerals prime time or smashbox photo finish primer. I use it everyday. Amazing.

2. Concealer

L’Oreal True Match super blendable crayon concealer “fair/light W1-2-3” – $7.99 (Target)

LOreal-True-Match-Super-Blendable-Crayon-Concealer2

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment/Concealer “Light Pale” – $7.99 (Target)

Maybelline-Instant-Age-Rewind-Eraser-Dark-Circle-Concealer-3

3. Foundation

Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream “Medium Sheer Tint” – $7.44 (Target)

14060992

I use the BB Cream more as an everyday light coverage and save my expensive MAKE UP FOREVER for special stuff. I don’t use both together. One, or the other.

MAKE UP FOREVER Mat Velvet + Matifying “No. 40 – Natural Beige” – $36.00 (Sephora)

mat-velvet-plus_p00014

4. Powder

Physicians Formula Mineral Airbrushing Pressed Powder “Creamy Natural” – $12.69 (Target)

imagesCAB9HAYR

Clinique Almost Powder “Medium” – $25.00 (Sephora)

imagesCAALNWZB

5. Bronzer

Physicians Formula Mineral Correcting Bronzer “Bronzer” – $12.69 (Target)

51PtQeytTGL._SL500_SS500_ 07544

Nars Bronzing Powder “Laguna” – $36.00 (Sephora)

s537878-main-hero

6. Eye Shadow

Cover Girl eye trio “Shimmering Sands” – $4.44 (Target)

640468_f260

7. Blush

e.l.f Blush “Mellow Mauve” – $3.00 (Target)

Nars Blush “Orgasm” – $29.00 (Sephora)

513S3scui+L._SY300_

8. Eyeliner

Bare Minerals Big & Bright Eyeliner “Midnight” – $15.00 (Sephora)

bareMinerals-Round-The-Clock-Waterproof-Eyeliner-in-Midnight

9. Mascara

Maybelline Falsies Mascara “Black Drama” – $5.94 (Target)

2218871

10. Lipstick

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain “Honey” – $7.49 (Target)

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain “Crush” – $7.49 (Target)

Revlon-Just-Bitten-Kissable-Balm-Stain-12

These are some of the most commented on “what make up do you use?” pictures. In all of these but the last one I am wearing the “Crush” lipstick. I have the “Honey” on in the last picture.

IMG_7320 (2) IMG_7328 (2)

photo 1 (2) photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2) photo 5 (2)

Thanks for enduring the before and after shot from before. You know I don’t like being a lone ranger so, here are some of my celeb BFF’s without makeup too. It’ll make you feel good about yourself today. I promise.

celebrities_with_without_makeup_04 celebrities_with_without_makeup_13 celebrities_with_without_makeup_24 imagesCA2VAPAH (2) imagesCA635VL9 imagesCAF37MIE imagesCAGO6LYQ imagesCALDYMS0 imagesCAT65WB3

Did you go out and buy any of the makeup that I use? Did you love it/hate it? I’d love to know!!

XOXO,

Paige

3 thoughts on “The Power of Makeup

  1. I think you look pretty both with no makeup and a full face. I feel like we always look at the before and after of celebrities and we think they look terrible, but I am pretty sure that’s because we just get used to seeing them look absolutely flawless. I hope you were kidding about thinking you look “scary” without makeup because you are gorgeous. How are you liking the bareMinerals eyeliner?

  2. Pingback: Workout Wednesday | sanity amongst chaos

Leave a Reply

