Home » Parties » Bachelorette Weekend In The “Big Easy”

Bachelorette Weekend In The “Big Easy”

2 weekends ago (MLK Weekend) I went to New Orleans for a Bachelorette weekend. It took me a week to recover to even attempt a blog about it. And a week to blog about it. Better late than never, right? Pregnant+Nonstop go go go=Exhaustion. It was such a fun weekend for my cousin, Lauren. Me, being the Matron of Honor, had the fun task of planning the whole weekend. I think I was the ONLY one out of the 10 of us who had never even been to New Orleans. My “fun task” quickly turned into lots of research and lots of help and opinions from others. I am so proud to say that I can’t imagine doing NOLA any other way. We went to some fabulous places. My eyes, ears, mouth and stomach may never be the same…for MANY different reasons.

Friday:

Paige's Phone 009

We left Jackson, MS around lunch and arrived in New Orleans at about 3:30. We could check in our hotel at 4:00 so that left just enough time for … you guessed it… a drive through diaquiri. Welcome to the “Big Easy”, baby!

Paige's Phone 013

Diaquiri’s from Diaquiri’s & Creams

1701 Lake Ave.
Metairie, LA
(504) 835-3698

http://www.daiquirisandcreams.com/

Now onto the hotel. It wouldn’t be New Orleans if there wasn’t something interesting to be seen along the way.

Paige's Phone 014Paige's Phone 015

Yes, they were filming a movie. Yes, the guy is hanging upside down from a building and yes, the sign says “I have a tiny penis”. Never a dull moment.

We stayed at The Saint Hotel: Autograph Collection right on Canal Street. It was 2 streets away from Bourbon and the PERFECT location for us. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Everything was so nice and the staff was EXCEPTIONAL all the way down to the valet guys, bellman and front desk employees. It was an A+.

imagesCAB3HL14

imagesCAELNKT4

http://www.thesainthotelneworleans.com/

931 Canal Street • New Orleans, LA 70112 • Tel: 504.522.5400

Friday night once everyone arrived, we headed over to our 7:45 dinner reservation at Capdeville New Orleans.

capdeville2

520 Capdeville St  New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 371-5161

http://www.capdevillenola.com/

capdeville

This restaurant was really so neat. It is small and is an American interpretation of the social houses so commonly found in London. The character of the restaurant alone is enough to go there and not to mention the food is AMAZING!

For an appetizer we started out with the Jalepeno, Sweet Corn & Cheddar Fritters. The majority of everyone ordered the Fish Tacos  with a side of fries and several orders of the Truffled Mac & Cheese for the table.

imagesCAAK72YK

Don’t question it, just order it. By far, the BEST mac & cheese i’ve ever had!

Paige's Phone 018

The group at Capdeville.

Paige's Phone 023

Me and Lauren (The Bride-To-Be)

Paige's Phone 026

Me and My Cousin Emily

IMG_2385

Off to Bourbon we go. Me, being a Bourbon street virgin, can only describe it as my version of hell. #1 I was sober. #2 There was a group of 10 of us walking down the middle of the street with people yelling obscene things from balconies and throwing beads at your head. HELL. Now, once I accepted the fact that this is what all the madness was about, I began to enjoy Bourbon Street for what it is really intended for…People watching. I honestly think the second some of these people turn the corner onto Bourbon, their dignity goes out the window. If only I had that much confidence. Woo-Wee. I swear I heard one middle-aged woman yell “The only problem is, I’m wearing a bra!” No ma’am, this is NOT a problem. I actually thank you for remembering to put it on tonight. After what seemed like a forever long walk we finally picked a bar. I’m not sure what made us “decide” on Razzoo Bar and Patio, but I am certain it was the overweight, mid twenties, homosexual white guy and the skinny, mid forties, straight black guy cover duo that sucked us in. I’m obsessed with them. Well, until they called our dancing “The Lazy White Girl”. Offended. Well, not really.. its pretty accurate, actually.

imagesCAPN7P2D

Razzoo Bar and Patio

511 Bourbon St  New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 522-5100

http://razzoo.com/

la

Get it, La!

pp 4

After Razzoo’s a $60 dollar burnt Bourbon Street pizza was had by all and off the dreamland we went. Fun day… Round 2 tomorrow, y’all!

Saturday:

Paige's Phone 037

Saturday morning me and Emily were up around 7 to go for a run. (Something about that internal clock). Being as I am 1. Pregnant so 2. I couldn’t drink, I was very much looking forward to our run and seeing the French Quarter in a different light. We headed left out of our hotel onto canal street and ran straight up to the RiverWalk. We got there right as the sun was coming up over the water. It was beautiful. We continued to run along the RiverWalk and then back down Canal and down Bourbon. I guess it had never crossed my mind that they cleaned Bourbon daily. We got to see this process. Literally, hoses and hoses of water and men scrubbing the streets, walls, fire hyrdrants etc… Wouldn’t you LOVE to have that job?!

Paige's Phone 027 Paige's Phone 029 Paige's Phone 030 Paige's Phone 031 Paige's Phone 033 Paige's Phone 034

We completed 3.16 miles around the French Quarter and quickly headed to Starbucks. (The real reason we got up at 7 am, right?)

run

Paige's Phone 038

I’ll have a Grande Decaf Nonfat White Chocolate Mocha, Please?!

Back at the hotel everyone was starting to get ready for the day.

Paige's Phone 042

Our Brunch idea quickly turned into more of a Lunch. In New Orleans you are unable to make reservations for Brunch/Lunch at most places. We walked to Jackson Square and figured we would just see what we could find. After being unsuccessful at a couple of places we finally stumbled across___________, (I can’t remember the name. 😦 but when I do find out I will update with all the info) right by Jackson Square that could seat us within 15 minutes. We’ll take it! A good stumble upon it was because the food and atmosphere were both wonderful! I settled on Red Beans and Rice while others chose Seafood Gumbo and most choosing a Crawfish PoBoy. Yummy!

Paige's Phone 043

After lunch, it was such a pretty day for it to be January, so we just decided to walk around the French Quarter and see all that there is to see.

Paige's Phone 040 Paige's Phone 039

The painted man pretending to be a statue–a classic NOLA staple. It didn’t matter that I knew that he was real and that I knew he was going to jump up, I still screamed every time he did it. Why do these things freak me out so much?!

The guy that turns into a car and drives through Jackson Square. I really just took this picture to send back to my 5 year old, that by the way, was completely unimpressed. But, I thought it was pretty neat. To each their own.

Next, we made our way to the French Market for a little day drinking (virgin for me), praline tasting and shopping, of course.

imagesCATLIE9D

http://www.frenchmarket.org/

1008 N. Peters Street . New Orleans, LA 701162307030-Vendor_Booth_New_Orleans

A booth full of colorful masks?! We will take 9, please. By far the best purchase the whole trip. Pics to come.

Now, on to the only place people mention when I would tell them we were going to New Orleans…drum roll please….

Cafe Du Monde. Get in my belly! This place did NOT disappoint. I may or may not drive 7 hours back just for a bite. YUMMO!

Paige's Phone 045

http://www.cafedumonde.com/

800 Decatur St  New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 525-4544

Paige's Phone 046

Only the best thing I’ve ever tasted… EVER!

Paige's Phone 053

After a long and fun filled day of taking in all that New Orleans has to offer, it was back to the hotel for a Lingerie shower for La. Let the fun begin…

IMG_2387 IMG_2389 IMG_2391 IMG_2392

In case you are wondering…the FASTEST way to embarrass someone is to throw them a Lingerie Shower. Make them open thongs in front of their friends while the friends name the lingerie obscene names. Done. 🙂

The adorable personalized wine glasses I made for each of the bridesmaids and the bride using these decals I bought off Etsy. They turned out so cute and everyone loved them. A fun keepsake from the weekend.

(you can get them here: https://www.etsy.com/transaction/110754908 )

il_570xN.361051473_oaqz

The Lingerie Shower could not have gone more perfectly. My favorite gift that we gave to Lauren was a coffee table book.

Paige's Phone 072

I had each bridesmaid send me a letter and pictures of them and Lauren and also pictures of the whole group. It ended up being 28 pages of great memories and pictures and something that she can cherish forever. It was such a fun idea and I had such a great time putting it all together.

photo (1)

Next we would put on our masks and head to our 8:30 pm dinner reservations.

Paige's Phone 067 Paige's Phone 060 Paige's Phone 069 pp 1 pp 2 pp 3

Our dinner reservation for Saturday night was at Dickie Brennans Steak House

db

716 Iberville St  New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 522-2467

http://www.dickiebrennanssteakhouse.com/

It was phenomenal! 5 star, for sure. I don’t think you could have gone wrong with anything on the menu. Everyone either got the steak or the red fish and everyone could not speak highly enough of it. The service was amazing. I really feel like we got very lucky, there is not one place we went that did not treat us like gold. The service all around the quarter was to die for. Because of this, I feel like our weekend could not have gone any better.

Sunday:

We all got up and got ready to head home. 😦 A few of us had a 7 hour drive ahead of us, some were catching planes and others just traveling a few hours back. Breakfast Sunday consisted of a corn dog and cheese fries.. keepin’ it classy, Paige.

Celebrating Lauren becoming the future Mrs. Broyles has been so much fun and I can’t wait until their big day!! I know everyone made memories on this trip that will last forever!

pp 6

XOXO,

Paige

6 thoughts on “Bachelorette Weekend In The “Big Easy”

  1. Thanks for posting! We are having my sister’s Bachelorette party in NOLA! Where did you get those mardi gras masks?!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

