Home » Pregnancy » 1st Trimester Must-Haves

1st Trimester Must-Haves

I woke up today feeling like a weight was lifted off of my shoulders. Keeping a secret from your kids for 12 weeks and 1 day is hard, y’all! The boys are so excited. Kash, a bit confused, but just sharing in the excitement of his big brother. And as for Will, I think he is most excited that I can now *complain* for lack of a better word, about my discomfort, nausea and just general snide remarks, to someone other than him! Seriously, I haven’t been THAT bad. Here are a few, well 14, of my FAVORITES that got me through that mean ol’ first trimester.

pregmusthave

1. Sweet and Salty Almond Bars:

1600027706

These have been a must have for me every morning. Giving me just enough energy and the only thing I could really stomach first thing. Couldn’t live without them.

2. Smoothie:

smoothie

I have had a VERY VERY tough 1st Trimester and beginning of the second. I was sick with both of my other boys as well so I guess it should have been expected. (funny how we forget these things). I haven’t been able to stomach much food. I have been forcing myself to still continue my gym/running routine if only for 30 minutes. This smoothie recipe has kept me on my feet after my workout.

1 handful of Ice

Cover ice with Almond milk

1 scoop EAS Lean and Tone Protein Powder

EAS-Lean-15-Protein-Powder-Vanilla-Cream-791083624053

1 Banana

1 cup MP Mango Berry Fruit Blend frozen

13335552

Handful of blueberries

1 Spoonful of Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt

A Squirt of Honey

Put all into the blender and blend until smooth.

3. Ginger Root:

0068113111179_500X500

On top of the Phenergan that my OB has prescribed, I have found that Ginger Root helps a TON with my nausea. I take 2 capsules 3 times a day to help keep the nausea at bay. 

 4. FROYO:

images (1)

The only thing I have been “craving” or just able to eat is Frozen Yogurt and a lot of it. Take me to one of the serve yourself places and I’m in pregnant girl heaven!!

5. Maybelline BB Cream:

maybelline_bb_cream_medium179567

Don’t you just love all the new changes to your skin and body? Can you feel my sarcasm through the computer?  My hormones shoot into overdrive as do most of ours and my face just can’t keep up. I haven’t been wearing much makeup as I can barely stand to get myself out of bed but I have loved Maybelline’s BB Cream. It is a great, light product with just enough coverage. I wear it in Medium.

6. Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm:

300 (1)

Holy chapped lips! Who knew they could get so dry. Winter and the wind aren’t helping matters much either.  I have really been loving the burt’s bees tinted lip balm. I carry it with me everywhere. I like it in Hibiscus.

7. Maybelline Falsies Mascara:

images

Most days you will catch me in these three things: BB Cream, Lip Balm and Mascara. It’s usually all I have time for or feel like putting on. I’m really like the Maybelline Falsies Mascara as of lately. I’ve always been a big Sephora lover and still wear all of my high end stuff for special occasions but being a busy mom of almost 3 kids. 2 of those in diapers, it’s been nice to find some drug store finds that are comparable to the expensive stuff that I LOVE!

8. Gud Body Lotion:

gud-lotion-free-sample-burts-bees

Burt’s Bees has come out with a new line called Gud. I’m kind of obsessed. I’m really liking their Vanilla Flame body lotion. I can bare many smells these days and I have been staying away from perfume. This lotion gives off just enough scent. And, if there is one piece of advice I could give a pregnant gal…Moisturize, Moisturize, Moisturize. Your skin will thank you after the baby!

9. Facial Towelettes (Makeup Remover):

garneir

Can we say EXHAUSTED?? I usually have this long drawn out face routine at night. Not anymore. I have been using the Garnier The Refreshing Remover Cleansing Towelettes to remove my make up at night. It even removes Mascara. Quick, easy and faster to bed. J

10. Toner:

300

Thanks to the prenatal vitamins and my already naturally oily face I have been in break out city. My mother-in-law introduced me to Aqua Glycolic Tone. It has been fabulous. Not too harsh on my skin but keeping the break outs to a minimum. My skin has been much clearer than baby #1 or #2 and I really think it’s because of this toner. It’s a little pricey, but worth it.

11. Oversized Sweater:

21841266-02

Being as we waited until week 12 to share our news and this being baby number 3, it has been VERY hard to hide the baby bump. Everyone told me with number 3 it just pops on out there and boy were they right… I feel like I look like I did when I was 5 and 6 months pregnant with #1 and #2. I have feeling this will make for a very LONG pregnancy as well. I have been the queen of the oversized sweater/tshirt look. Winter has definitely been on my side in keeping this little secret as well. Layer, Layer, Layer. This sweater from Forever 21 is one of my favorites. I have it in a Large.

http://www.forever21.com/Product/Product.aspx?BR=f21&Category=sweater&ProductID=2021841266&VariantID=

12. Yoga Pants:

0471984901663_180X180

Can you really have too many pairs of black pants or leggings? I think not. I literally LIVE in these. Every time I got to Wal-Mart I always check on their Danskin section. They don’t keep stuff long but you can find some GREAT stuff in that section. Especially if you wear work out gear 5 days a week like I do. I am OBSESSED with these(I got them in a Medium:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Danskin-Now-Women-s-Performance-Bootcut-Pants/20667775

13. Scarf:

31557762-04

It’s rare that you will catch me without a scarf and a hat on. It’s my go to look. I have racks and racks of scarves. It has been a MUST HAVE in helping cover the baby bump that really isn’t a baby bump  yet and just looks like you gained weight. Here is one of the many ones I wear from Forever 21:

http://www.forever21.com/Product/Product.aspx?BR=f21&Category=acc_scarf_gloves&ProductID=1031557762&VariantID=

 

14. Military Style Hat:

$(KGrHqR,!kwE+5)HdV(cBQD3UqOC,Q~~60_57

I have this hat in the first 5 colors and you will catch me in it on MOST DAYS. I ordered them off ebay a couple of years ago and was so excited when I saw they were still selling it. You can’t go wrong with a low side braid and a hat. Anything to cover the color of GREEN during the first trimester is a winner in my book.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-DISTRESSED-CASTRO-CADET-MILITARY-STYLE-ARMY-HAT-MANY-COLORS-AVAILABLE-/290749898397?pt=US_Hats&var=590075838723&hash=item43b20b5e9d

Those are my absolute cannot live without must haves that have gotten me through my first trimester this go around. Now, hears to the 2nd trimester and praying this nausea stuff goes away. I’m ready for that energy boost!

XOXO

Paige

3 thoughts on “1st Trimester Must-Haves

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m
    not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Pingback: Workout Wednesday | sanity amongst chaos

Leave a Reply

