Home » DIY » DIY: Burlap Owl Valentine’s Door Hanger

DIY: Burlap Owl Valentine’s Door Hanger

As I was doing my daily pinterest look on Saturday, I started looking for Valentine’s Door Hangers. After Christmas and before Spring my front door looks pretty bare and lonely. I came across some really cute things but with a $30 + price tag. No, thank you! It’s for one month, y’all. So I happened to have some leftover burlap from K’s birthday party, a hot glue gun and acrylic paint. The husband was watching the playoff games, the boys were napping and I had an hour of free time. So… I decided to make one myself.
Here’s a little tutorial on how and what I did.

My Inspiration:

il_570xN_411533602_kizw

You can buy this $30 one from etsy here ( http://www.etsy.com/listing/119262440/valentines-owl-burlap-door-hanger?ref=sr_gallery_5&ga_search_query=burlap+owl+valentines&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=US&ga_search_type=all )

Let’s get to work…

First, I took ! yard of burlap and folded it in half. I then freehanded my Owl from the picture above and cut it out. Make sure you cut both layers. This is giving you a front and a back piece.

owl4

Then, you start by taking your hot glue gun and gluing the edges. I only glued to about right under the arms of the owl.

owl5

Next, start stuffing the inside with your left over grocery bags. (Always always always save these, you can use them for SO much!) Plus, we are working on that carbon footprint. 🙂

owl3

Continue to stuff, stuff, stuff and glue, glue, glue until you have the whole thing to the fluffiness of your liking.

owl1

Now, get your paint out and go to town. Being as creative as you like. After I finish painting it, I take some picture hanging wire and attach it to the top in between the ears. Add som ribbon and there you have it…

owl

My own Burlap Owl Valentine’s Door Hanger. It cost me NOTHING ( I had all the materials left over from other projects) and only took about 30 minutes + drying time. SCORE! I would love to see yours if you attempt one too!!

XOXO,

Paige

3 thoughts on “DIY: Burlap Owl Valentine’s Door Hanger

  1. Paige,

    I love this owl door hanger. I decided to make a few to give away for Valentine’s Day. I would like to email you a picture but i don’t see how i can on your blog.

  2. Pingback: DIY: “It’s A Girl” Burlap Door Hanger | sanity amongst chaos

Leave a Reply

