Home » Parties » Kash’s 2nd Birthday Party

Kash’s 2nd Birthday Party

I can’t believe my little guy is 2! Seems like just yesterday I was having him. *tear* Time sure does fly! He is obsessed with 3 things Mickey, Yo Gabba Gabba and Elmo. After doing a little research I concluded that Elmo was going to be the “easiest” themed party to throw. Although, after I decided on that it became quite difficult because I then realized most of things are “Sesame Street” themed not just “Elmo” alone. So… I improvised. Let’s start with the decor. We decided to have the party at our house. His birthday is so close to Christmas that its just too much trying to do anything else. We invited a few of our close friends and family and we were all set and ready to go.

Image

Our house from the street

IMG_2310

The front I just used a chalkboard from our playroom and some chalk and ta-da… a welcome sign!

IMG_2272

IMG_2269

I made this wreath by taking a cardboard wreath frame from Michael’s and wrapping 2 feather boas around it. I took an Elmo stuffed animal from the boys room and attached him with a pipe cleaner and spray painted a wooden number 2 and attached it with ribbon for Kash’s own personal birthday wreath. I really liked the way it turned out!

IMG_2318

This is our entry way right when you walk into the front door. I free-handed  Elmo out of some poster board and then glued his eyes, nose and mouth on. Easy peasy. Now on to the yummy stuff… The Menu. It is COLD in the south right now so I wanted to some good ol’ warm you up aka “comfort food” ) No one is on a New Year’s diet, right? In our house we have a formal dining room, then a breakfast table. The formal dining room is right when you walk into our house to the right. (The first thing everyone would see) Here, I put the Cake and Cupcakes. The party favors and also some pimento cheese dip and wheat thins (look for recipe to come..it’s to DIE for), caramel popcorn, Peanut Butter m&m’s and some fruit.

IMG_2316 IMG_2315 IMG_2298 IMG_2295

IMG_2285 IMG_2286

I ordered the cupcake toppers from Etsy ( http://www.etsy.com/shop//FlyingTurtleBoutique )

IMG_2288

In our Kitchen, where the breakfast table is was the good stuff.. a Chili cheese pie/hot dog bar. YUM! The south is COLD right now..so I had to have some warm you up (aka “comfort food”) No one goes on a diet after the New Year anyway, right?

IMG_2300 IMG_2302 IMG_2303 IMG_2304 IMG_2305

The whole spread consist of : Hot Dogs, Buns, Chili, Ro-Tel Cheese Dip, Fritos, Cheese, Saltines, Ketchup, Mustard, Sour Cream, Relish and Onions. It was a hit!! I found this great post on Pinterest on how to do your Hot Dogs in the crockpot ( http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2012/04/hot-dogs-for-crowd.html ). Why had I never thought of this. Brilliant. And, they tasted great too!! Across the room in our Kitchen is a small bar. I put the drink station there fully equipped with water, juice boxes and the best punch EVER. Look for this recipe to come too. You’ll never throw another party without it.

IMG_2323

We have a great kid friendly backyard. So the mere fact that is was 45 degrees outside wasn’t going to stop us! We have a wonderful built in fire pit so I took advantage of it. My husband started a fire and we set up a nice little s’more and hot chocolate bar for everyone. I don’t think I saw a kid in my house except for when we forced them to come inside and sing Happy Birthday. Did I mention it was also a birthday party with 10 boys and 1 girl. Those boys LIVE outside. Which is perfectly fine for this mama whose house stayed clean! Double win!!

IMG_2280 IMG_2279 IMG_2278 IMG_2276

Hot Chocolate recipe found here (I doubled the recipe) – http://www.creatingthroughlife.com/2012/01/crock-pot-hot-chocolate.html The Goody Bags: I was completely stumped when it came to goody bags this year. All of the kids are different age ranges. So, I just stuck with theme of the party… S’mores! Can’t ever go wrong giving them a little sugar. 🙂

IMG_2289

IMG_2290 IMG_2291

Now… to my favorite part. The Birthday Boy!

IMG_2329IMG_2331

All ready for my party, Mom!

IMG_2332IMG_2335

IMG_2337IMG_2340IMG_2336

After a lot of searching I found Hayden’s Elmo shirt at Wal-Mart and Kash’s at Target. Score!

IMG_2344IMG_2345

That cake didn’t stand a chance…

IMG_2366

I’d say Kash had a very successful 2nd birthday party. We are so blessed with great family and friends. My cup runneth over…

XOXO

Paige

IMG_2363

Leave a Reply

